skip to primary navigation skip to content

Institutional Review Board for Human Subjects Research

The Protection of Human Subjects is based on U.S. federal law and key principles defined in the Belmont Report.   The TCU Institutional Review Board (“IRB”) oversees human subjects research at TCU and plays a key role in promoting adherence to ethical principles, professional standards, and applicable law related to human subjects research. The IRB reports to the Associate Provost of Research.

The IRB develops standards and reviews proposed projects to insure compliance with TCU policy related to provisions for health, welfare, privacy, dignity and human concerns in research involving human subjects.  Areas of concern include health, welfare, privacy, dignity and human concerns when research involves human subjects.  See the IRB Policies, Procedures and Forms for information about protocol review and approval.

Grant proposals that include human subjects research must have IRB approval prior to funding.  PIs are advised to submit protocols to the IRB as soon as a fundability notice is received from the grantor or, in the case of internal grants, when the proposal is submitted.

Scheduled Meetings

Please see the following schedule of meetings and deadline dates:

Proposals Submitted by: IRB Meeting Date:
Thursday, August 25, 2016 Friday, September 9, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016 Friday, October 14, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016 Friday, November 11, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016 Friday, December 9, 2016
Friday, December 23, 2016 Friday, January 13, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017 Friday, February 10, 2017
Friday, February 24, 2017 Friday, March 3, 2017
Friday, March 31, 2017 Friday, April 21, 2017
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 Friday, May 12, 2017
Monday, June 26, 2017 Friday, July 14, 2017

(The IRB only meets one time during the summer.) While student research is encouraged at both undergraduate and graduate levels, only TCU faculty may submit protocols directly to the Institutional board.  Students should contact their department chair or adviser regarding Departmental Review Board review of student protocols.

IRB protocols should be submitted electronically to for distribution to Board members.  Please send one pdf of the protocol including all supporting documents and the word document for the approval form.

IRB Members

Name Dept Year
Dennis Cheek, Chair (NURS) (2020)
Tim Barth, Co-Chair (PSYC) (2017)
Cathy Cox, Chair Elect (PSYC) (2018)
Anna Petursdottir, Past Chair (PSYC) (2018)
Kristen Carr (COMM) (2021)
Michael Faggella-Luby (EDUC) (2021)
Kylo-Patrick Hart (FTDM) (2020)
Dru Riddle (NRAN) (2017)
Angela Thompson (SOCI) (2019)
Laurie Jagielski, ex officio Non-TCU-affiliated member
Matthew Johnson, ex officio (MENTAL HEALTH)
Stacy Pickett, alternate Prisoner Advocate (CSCD-Tarrant County) and Non-TCU-affiliate
Rodney Thompson, alternate Prisoner Advocate and Non-TCU-affiliate
Linda Freed, liaison (SPONSORED PROGRAMS)
Bonnie Melhart, Administrative Oversight Associate Provost for Research